Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Black History Month Resources @ Your Library

Black History Month Resources @ Your Library

 

Black Life in America Perpetual Access Collection

Black Life in America provides comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from earliest times to today. It is sourced from nearly 19,000 American and global newspapers from 1704 to 1975, including over 400 African American newspapers. BLIA provides full-text searching as well as access to content by topic, event, and eras in African American history.

Biography in Context

Gale Biography in Context allows you to search for biographies based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, gender, or other keywords. Check out biographies of Black History leaders such as Rosa Parks, Ida B. Wells, Zora Neale Hurston, and many more!

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

This database provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.

Gale Literary Index

Search this digital master index to find coverage of notable Black authors and their works.

Black Scholar Journal

Black scholar presents African-American essays on a broad range of issues of concern to scholars in sociology, history, literature, political science, health, art, women's studies and ethnic studies.

Black American Literature Forum

This journal publishes essays on African-American literature, art, and culture and contains interviews, fiction, and poems.

Black History Bulletin

This peer-viewed publication includes innovative materials for instructors who teach Black history.

Black Issues in Higher Education

This periodical includes articles, news, and reviews about issues in Afro-American education.