Welcome to the Research Portal! This page provides one-stop shopping for all of your research needs.
Not sure how to start? Chat with someone in the library or meet with a librarian in person to get some help.
Students who are currently enrolled at Fletcher Technical Community College in an on campus, distance education, or online course are eligible for library services. To use the databases from a remote location, you must first be a registered student at Fletcher.
You will be prompted to supply a username (your Lola number) and password (your date of birth MMDDYY). Further help may be obtained by contacting the Library at via phone at 985-448-7910 or chat during library hours of operation.
Covers aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. Full text publications, including many scholarly journals.
These are a selection of books available from the library in both print and electronic formats. More are available when you search the catalog.
HVAC Control Systems provides an introduction to HVAC fundamentals and an in-depth explanation of HVAC control systems. This textbook is designed for HVAC, building maintenance, and controls technicians. It includes coverage of commercial heating and cooling systems, indoor air quality, ventilation requirements, and the networks and controls used to manage them. Each chapter is divided into sections, with checkpoints reinforcing comprehension of key concepts.
The Definitive Guide to the 2017 NEC®--Thoroughly Updated to Reflect the Latest Provisions Revised to fully align with the 2017 NEC®, this on-the-job reference contains the trusted advice and analysis you need to interpret and effectively work with the current set of regulations. In-depth coverage of the background and rationale for specific rules enhances your understanding of both meaning and application. Key points are illuminated through thousands of detailed diagrams and photos; in-depth discussions with owners and inspectors provide valuable, real-world insight. Designed to be used as a companion guide to the 2017 NEC® itself, McGraw-Hill's National Electrical Code® 2017 Handbook, 29th Edition, is arranged logically--the explanation for any topic lines up exactly with the applicable section in the Code. You will get straightforward clarification of obtuse rules and vague language, enabling you to work efficiently and safely--and to successfully achieve full compliance. This book doesn't duplicate the text of the NEC®. Instead, it is entirely comprised of explanatory text, specifically addressing every single code article, providing the most analytical content available. Because the book is published completely independently from NFPA, it is free to--and frequently does--offer detailed analysis of technically questionable and editorially convoluted provisions in the NEC®, along with strategies for discussing those issues with owners and inspectors before financial commitments are made. Covers all significant changes to the 2017 NEC, including: * Industrial process heating for fixed resistance and electrode equipment (new Article 425) * Extensive new coverage of solar photovoltaic (PV) systems generally (Article 690), and the new Article 691 on large-scale utility-connected solar farms On-site electrical storage, including new technologies such as flow batteries (new Article 706) * DC Microgrids that utilize solar, wind, or fuel cells to supply functional power (new Article 712) * A new repository for stand-alone provisions that formerly repeated themselves (new Article 710)
Fully updated to reflect the latest technologies, this best-selling guide shows how to troubleshoot and repair the engines found in household devices--including lawnmowers, garden tractors, portable generators, and handheld tools. Written by a master mechanic, Small Gas Engine Repair, Fourth Edition, provides easy-to-follow, fully illustrated instructions for complicated diagnostic and repair procedures. The book suggests money-saving alternatives to expensive factory tools and overpriced replacement parts. You will gain access to valuable Internet resources as well as shortcuts, field fixes, and other tricks of the trade that working mechanics use on the job. You'll find coverage of: * Basics * Troubleshooting * Ignition and related systems * Fuel systems * Rewind starters * Electrical systems * Engine mechanical * Two- and four-cycle engines * Diaphragm carburetors * Electronic fuel injection * And much more
Are you ready to start research on a topic for this course? Here are some tips from the library:
Search the right places. Where does the information you need live? Is it available through Google or do you need a specialized library database to freely access it? Make sure you pick the right resource when searching.
Search multiple places. Well-rounded research usually involves searching in multiple places. Don't limit yourself to just one place.
Use the subject headings. Databases usually tag things so that you can easily see everything on a specific topic. Find the subject headings that are related to your topic rather than relying just on a keyword search.
Use synonyms. Think carefully about your search terms (phrases, not sentences!) and try synonyms of your search terms.
Use Boolean Logic. This will help you get a smaller list of highly relevant results rather than a huge list of barely relevant results.
Don't wait until the last minute. Libraries usually can share resources with each other. If there is something you need that we don't have, we can possibly get it for you. This takes time though, so don't put off your research!
Does all of this information make your head spin? Meet with a librarian! Librarians are trained to help you find information, so ask for help.
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioural sciences. Consult frequently asked questions to sharpen your understanding of APA Style. It lets you familiarise yourself with submission standards for APA books and journals.