Welcome to the Research Portal! This page provides one-stop shopping for all of your research needs.
Not sure how to start? Chat with someone in the library or meet with a librarian in person to get some help.
Students who are currently enrolled at Fletcher Technical Community College in an on campus, distance education, or online course are eligible for library services. To use the databases from a remote location, you must first be a registered student at Fletcher.
You will be prompted to supply a username (your Lola number) and password (your date of birth MMDDYY). Further help may be obtained by contacting the Library at via phone at 985-448-7910 or chat during library hours of operation.
Comprehensive information on all aspects of business related topics and 55 videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series. The database features company SWOT analyses and market research reports. Country reports are included in this database.
ACCOUNTING BEST PRACTICES Seventh Edition Today's accounting staffs are called on to work magic: process transactions, write reports, improve efficiency, create new processes--all at the lowest possible cost, using an ever-shrinking proportion of total corporate expenses. Sound impossible? Not if your staff is using the best practices for accounting. Fully updated in a new edition, Accounting Best Practices, Seventh Edition draws from renowned accounting leader Steven Bragg's extensive experience in successfully developing, operating, and consulting various accounting departments. This invaluable resource has the at-your-fingertips information you need, whether you've been searching for ways to cut costs in your accounting department, or just want to offer more services without the added expense. The best practices featured in this excellent step-by-step manual constitute need-to-know information concerning the most advanced techniques and strategies for increasing productivity, reducing costs, and monitoring existing accounting systems. This new edition boasts over 400 best practices, with fifty new to this edition in the areas of taxation, finance, collections, general ledger, accounts payable, and billing. Now featuring a corresponding seven-minute podcast for each chapter found on the book's companion website, Accounting Best Practices is the perfect, do-it-yourself book for the manager who wants to significantly boost their accounting department.
Concise, engaging and highly intuitive Economics: A Orimer equips you with an understanding of all the basic principles of economics. It is designed specifically for readers with no prior knowledge of the field. Technical content is kept to a minimum and the universal principles of economicsare distilled. At its core, economics is simply the study of how humans behave and the choices which they make. Chrystal and Hayley emphasise the practical application of economics for an individual as a consumer, saver and employee; and within the context of business and financial decision-making.This approach ensures that the connection between economic theory and our everyday lives is illuminated. Whether you are taking a short course in economics; are about to begin an Economics or related degree, or simply want to understand the theories which lie behind the headlines, this book whichwill ensure you master the core concepts.Supported by online resources to take your learning further:For Students* Multiple choice questions* Weblinks* Summaries of key concepts* Bespoke videos of the authors summarising each chapterFor Lecturers* PowerPointRG slides
Today, one of the most valuable assets of companies is their workforce. Primarily, the importance of information is increased and the human factor that absorbs and uses it by creating value has become much more essential. One of the most critical steps that managers need to take to be successful is to enhance human power in the most efficient way possible. Companies that want to be long-lasting need to make HR the main item on their agenda. Human resource practices are critical for companies to survive. In addition to firms in general, family firms are also a special and the most common type of business in the economy. Hence, family firm HR practices are also an important part of this book. Among the most famous features of a family firm, complex HR management practices are on top of it all. Owners and family members are all aware that non-family employees are needed, and non-family managers are required for the success and sustainability of the family firm. Hence, family firms cannot have biased, bifurcated, or different HR practices towards non-family employees. Readers will find this book comprehensive and inclusive of new issues of HR management literature. The book is comprised of chapters, each describing current and important practices and problems of HR management. Along with the family firm-specific problems like nonfamily managers, women entrepreneurship, and nepotism, chapters cover the state-of-the-art topics and findings in the HR management literature. This includes organizational development and HR management relationship, discrimination and nepotism, women in family firms and tourism, HR accounting and digital age, quality and management, behavior, and change management. Students and scholars of human resource management, along with the leaders of modern management teams, will benefit from this book from the first page to the last page. Each chapter will carry its reader to the next level of understanding of issues and findings of human resource management.
How advertising works is not a question that has a simple answer. Advertising is a diverse entity and different campaigns work (or fail to work) in a plethora of different ways. Most advertising persuades people to buy things, but how? And who does it aim to persuade? And how are thesedecisions made? In this Very Short Introduction Winston Fletcher, an expert with extensive knowledge of advertising from the inside, aims to answer these questions, and in doing so, dispels some of the myths and misunderstandings surrounding the industry.The book contains a short history of advertising and an explanation of how the industry works, and how each of the parties (the advertisers , the media and the agencies) are involved. It considers the extensive spectrum of advertisers and their individual needs. It also looks at the financial sideof advertising and asks how advertisers know if they have been successful, or whether the money they have spent has in fact been wasted.Fletcher concludes with a discussion about the controversial and unacceptable areas of advertising such as advertising products to children and advertising products such as cigarettes and alcohol. He also discusses the benefits of advertising and what the future may hold for the industry.
Are you ready to start research on a topic for this course? Here are some tips from the library:
Search the right places. Where does the information you need live? Is it available through Google or do you need a specialized library database to freely access it? Make sure you pick the right resource when searching.
Search multiple places. Well-rounded research usually involves searching in multiple places. Don't limit yourself to just one place.
Use the subject headings. Databases usually tag things so that you can easily see everything on a specific topic. Find the subject headings that are related to your topic rather than relying just on a keyword search.
Use synonyms. Think carefully about your search terms (phrases, not sentences!) and try synonyms of your search terms.
Use Boolean Logic. This will help you get a smaller list of highly relevant results rather than a huge list of barely relevant results.
Don't wait until the last minute. Libraries usually can share resources with each other. If there is something you need that we don't have, we can possibly get it for you. This takes time though, so don't put off your research!
Does all of this information make your head spin? Meet with a librarian! Librarians are trained to help you find information, so ask for help.
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioural sciences. Consult frequently asked questions to sharpen your understanding of APA Style. It lets you familiarise yourself with submission standards for APA books and journals.