ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE HARDWARE DESIGN Learn foundational and advanced topics in Neural Processing Unit design with real-world examples from leading voices in the field In Artificial Intelligence Hardware Design: Challenges and Solutions, distinguished researchers and authors Drs. Albert Chun Chen Liu and Oscar Ming Kin Law deliver a rigorous and practical treatment of the design applications of specific circuits and systems for accelerating neural network processing. Beginning with a discussion and explanation of neural networks and their developmental history, the book goes on to describe parallel architectures, streaming graphs for massive parallel computation, and convolution optimization. The authors offer readers an illustration of in-memory computation through Georgia Tech's Neurocube and Stanford's Tetris accelerator using the Hybrid Memory Cube, as well as near-memory architecture through the embedded eDRAM of the Institute of Computing Technology, the Chinese Academy of Science, and other institutions. Readers will also find a discussion of 3D neural processing techniques to support multiple layer neural networks, as well as information like: A thorough introduction to neural networks and neural network development history, as well as Convolutional Neural Network (CNN) models Explorations of various parallel architectures, including the Intel CPU, Nvidia GPU, Google TPU, and Microsoft NPU, emphasizing hardware and software integration for performance improvement Discussions of streaming graph for massive parallel computation with the Blaize GSP and Graphcore IPU An examination of how to optimize convolution with UCLA Deep Convolutional Neural Network accelerator filter decomposition Perfect for hardware and software engineers and firmware developers, Artificial Intelligence Hardware Design is an indispensable resource for anyone working with Neural Processing Units in either a hardware or software capacity.
CPT® 2022 Professional Edition is the definitive AMA-authored resource to help healthcare professionals correctly report and bill medical procedures and services. Healthcare professionals want accurate reimbursement. Payers want efficient claims processing. Correct reporting and billing of medical procedures and services begins with CPT® 2022 Professional Edition. Only the AMA, with the help of physicians and other experts in the healthcare community, creates and maintains the CPT code set. No other codebook has the accurate, complete official guidelines for the latest and current procedural terminology for procedures and services to help you code medical services and procedures properly. The AMA also takes the copyright protection of its content very seriously and is committed to providing the most effective anti-piracy efforts for its authors and readers. To help combat print piracy, protect our intellectual properties, and ensure our customers' right to authentic AMA-certified content, the CPT® 2022 Professional is equipped with nonintrusive light-yellow dots on almost every page of the codebook. As a result of the implementation of this anti-piracy technology, this codebook cannot be reproduced by photocopy or scan in accordance with current copyright rules and laws. FEATURES AND BENEFITS The CPT® 2022 Professional Edition codebook covers hundreds of code, guideline and text changes and features: CPT® Changes, CPT® Assistant, and Clinical Examples in Radiology citations - provides cross-referenced information in popular AMA resources that can enhance your understanding of the CPT code set A comprehensive index - aid in locating codes related to a specific procedure, service, anatomic site, condition, synonym, eponym or abbreviation to allow for a clearer, quicker search Anatomical and procedural illustrations - help improve coding accuracy and understanding of the anatomy and procedures discussed Coding tips throughout each section - improve understanding of the nuances of the code set Enhanced codebook table of contents -enable a quick search of the codebook's content for quick access Section-specific table of contents - provide a useful tool to navigate effectively and quickly through each section's codes Summary of additions, deletions and revisions - provide a summary and quick reference of the 2022 changes in the codes without having to compare editions Multiple appendices - offer additional information for modifiers, clinical examples, add-on codes, vascular families re-sequenced codes, and MAAAs and PLA services New Appendix Q - provide coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) vaccines and their associated administration codes New Appendix R - provide digital medicine services taxonomy Comprehensive E/M code selection tables - aid physicians and coders in assigning the most appropriate evaluation and management codes Notes pages at the end of every code set section and subsection
This book provides readers with a valuable reference on cyber weapons and, in particular, viruses, software and hardware Trojans. The authors discuss in detail the most dangerous computer viruses, software Trojans and spyware, models of computer Trojans affecting computers, methods of implementation and mechanisms of their interaction with an attacker -- a hacker, an intruder or an intelligence agent. Coverage includes Trojans in electronic equipment such as telecommunication systems, computers, mobile communication systems, cars and even consumer electronics. The evolutionary path of development of hardware Trojans from "cabinets", "crates" and "boxes" to the microcircuits (IC) is also discussed. Readers will benefit from the detailed review of the major known types of hardware Trojans in chips, principles of their design, mechanisms of their functioning, methods of their introduction, means of camouflaging and detecting, as well as methods of protection and counteraction.
Whatever your hydraulic applications, Practical Hydraulic Systems: Operation & Troubleshooting For Engineers & Technicians will help you to increase your knowledge of the fundamentals, improve your maintenance programs and become an excellent troubleshooter of problems in this area. Cutaways of all major components are included in the book to visually demonstrate the components' construction and operation. Developing an understanding of how it works leads to an understanding of how and why it fails. Multimedia views of the equipment are shown, to give as realistic a view of hydraulic systems as possible. The book is highly practical, comprehensive and interactive. It discusses Hydraulic Systems construction, design applications, operations, maintenance, and management issues and provides you with the most up-to-date information and Best Practice in dealing with the subject.
This book presents trends, developments, and examples of how digital disruption is currently reshaping the logistics industry. Logistics is the invisible force behind the global economy, influencing and providing a lens into all economic activities. Chapters written by respected experts in the field describe how new technologies such as autonomous vehicles, blockchain, Internet of things (IoT), and state-of-the-art freight management solutions are fundamentally changing supply chain solutions. Special emphasis is placed on promising start-ups and venture capital firms around the world that are now investing in the future of logistics. "Supply chains hold significant room for optimization to the benefit of customers, industry participants, authorities and the environment. This book provides a unique set of perspectives from industry leaders covering a wide range of topics. It is a 'must read' for anyone seeking to understand and contribute to a better tomorrow in supply chains logistics." -- Thomas Bagge, Chief Executive Officer and Statutory Director DCSA "The need for standardisation and digitalisation in logistics is no longer an option. This book gives insights from industry experts, shows trends and innovations in platforms, underlines the need for transparency and how big data and analytics can make a world of difference. It's an incredible resource if you wish to better understand the new normal of logistics." -- Global Chief Digital & Information Officer, MSC Mediterranean Shipping Company "This book presents readers with a straightforward and comprehensive assessment of supply chain innovation and trends and their impact on the industry. With contributions from several industry leaders, it provides critical knowledge and insight that supply chain and logistics managers need to implement disruptive technologies strategically." -- Rene Jacquat, Founder / Advisor, LogiChain Solutions
Challenging Cases in Pediatric Hospital Medicine is a collection of interesting pediatric hospital medicine cases that address clinical conundrums or issues and are to be used as teaching cases of clinical reasoning. Other cases will use inpatient care as a launching point for complex ethical dilemmas or system-based care. Each chapter begins with the clinical competencies that will be addressed and the patient presentation. Next, the chapter steps through the case workup and management, as well as the case outcome and follow-up. Chapters conclude with valuable pearls, discussions of aspects of care that are not just disease management but a true reflection of the scope of pediatric hospital medicine. Recommended readings round out each chapter.
This new volume makes sense of the jumble of techno-jargon and programming acronyms for high school and undergraduate students. More than 125 entries explain the fundamental concepts, popular languages, systems, and protocols that go into computer programming and coding.
"Provides a fully updated, comprehensive survey of over 650 cancers, cancer drugs, traditional and alternative treatments, diagnostic procedures, and side effects. Includes about 300 color images and illustrations, including a separate section of anatomical body system illustrations; a comprehensive subject index; a medical glossary; and an appendix of cancer centers, national support groups, government agencies and research groups"--
"Provides authoritative, comprehensive information on all aspects of childrens health, including in-depth coverage of pediatric diseases and disorders, along with issues related to physical and cognitive/behavioral development"--
"Explains legal terms and concepts in everyday language. Covers a wide variety of topics including specific legislation, persons, entities, movements, and events that have shaped the U.S. legal system and influenced public perception of American law"--
"Provides a survey of topics covering the entire spectrum of psychology, including notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information"--
The fun and friendly guide to mastering IBM's Statistical Package for the Social Sciences Written by an author team with a combined 55 years of experience using SPSS, this updated guide takes the guesswork out of the subject and helps you get the most out of using the leader in predictive analysis. Covering the latest release and updates to SPSS 27.0, and including more than 150 pages of basic statistical theory, it helps you understand the mechanics behind the calculations, perform predictive analysis, produce informative graphs, and more. You'll even dabble in programming as you expand SPSS functionality to suit your specific needs. Master the fundamental mechanics of SPSS Learn how to get data into and out of the program Graph and analyze your data more accurately and efficiently Program SPSS with Command Syntax Get ready to start handling data like a pro--with step-by-step instruction and expert advice!
Books to Film will cover literary adaptations in four main categories: Classic Literature; Contemporary bestsellers and popular fiction; nonfiction, encompassing biography, true crime, history, and memoirs; and childrenâ??s and young adult literature. Sidebars will highlight people, such as authors, film directors, screenwriters, actors, producers, who are particularly identified with adaptation or a particular work.
Managing cost, time, and quality of a project can be a challenging task for any project manager, but especially in times of an ever-changing and burgeoning field of IT. Project Management Techniques and Innovations in Information Technology offers a vital compendium of the latest research, case studies, best practices, and methodologies within the field of IT project management. By collecting research from top experts around the world in a variety of IT project management applications and job sectors, this volume will serve as a critical reference manual and research guide for both practitioners and academics alike.
From the TED stage to the page, Juan Enriquez, author of As the Future Catches You and Evolving Ourselves, presents a lively and engaging guide to ethics in a technological age. From the TED stage to the page, Juan Enriquez, author ofAs the Future Catches YouandEvolving Ourselves, presents a lively and engaging guide to ethics in a technological age. Most people have a strong sense of right and wrong, and many of us are not reluctant to argue with someone who disagrees. But when we take an unyielding stand on something we regard as an eternal truth, we forget that ethics evolve over time. What was once broadly acceptable is now completely unacceptable. For example, burning heretics is no longer considered a just punishment. Child marriage is not applauded as a family value. Many shifts in the right vs. wrong pendulum are affected by advances in technology. In Right/Wrong, Juan Enriquez reflects on the evolution of ethics in a technological age.
"Aligned with national science standards and high school science curricula. Covers all major umbrellas of science, engineering, technology, mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology"--
This revised and expanded third edition of Etiquette & Communication Strategies for Nurses will help you increase your confidence, enhance your reputation, and focus your career aspirations. Filled with practical tips, avoidable faux pas, and informative Q&As, this book will help you:* NEW: Plan an engaging and impactful presentation* NEW: Boost your career by writing an article* NEW: Use a leadership strategy to achieve your personal and professional goals* Interview successfully for a new position* Dine with confidence in any business or social setting* Increase your comfort with business travel* Manage online and social media interactions safely and professionally* Interact with everyone from executives to subordinates with grace and polish, regardless of the setting or situation* Moderate productive meetings* Thrive, not just survive, in culturally diverse interactions
"Designed to provide hands-on practicums for students to learn foundational concepts in forensic science, The Basics of Investigating Forensic Science, Second Edition presents laboratory techniques through engaging exercises. It is a perfect text offering engaging lab projects on a range of subjects including fingerprinting, shoeprint analysis, firearms, pathology, anthropology, forensic biology and DNA, drugs, trace evidence and more. The book is highly illustrated with extensive photos and diagrams to illustrate processes and concepts. The book can be used alongside any textbook, and even as a stand-alone text for 2- and 4-year college programs as well as at the high school level. The edition is fully updated to include the latest advances with more diagrams of laboratory procedures including diagrams of how equipment is setup for a given exercise. The focus is on laboratory procedure, techniques, and interpretation of results. Many of the exercises can be done with minimal laboratory equipment and material while many exercises also have additional options and advanced lab exercises for educations with access to more specialized and advance lab equipment. As such, The Basics of Investigating Forensic Science, Second Edition is an excellent resource for introduction to forensic sciences courses and classroom material, including the companion textbook it was designed to accompany, Forensic Science: The Basics, soon to be available in its Fourth Edition. Sequencing of laboratory exercises is designed to follow the Basics textbook, however, the lab exercises can be done in any sequence desired by an instructor"--
Gain a fundamental understanding of Python's syntax and features with this up-to-date introduction and practical reference. Covering a wide array of Python-related programming topics, including addressing language internals, database integration, network programming, and web services, you'll be guided by sound development principles. Ten accompanying projects will ensure you can get your hands dirty in no time. Updated to reflect the latest in Python programming paradigms and several of the most crucial features found in Python 3, Beginning Python also covers advanced topics such as extending Python and packaging/distributing Python applications. What You'll Learn Become a proficient Python programmer by following along with a friendly, practical guide to the language's key features Write code faster by learning how to take advantage of advanced features such as magic methods, exceptions, and abstraction Gain insight into modern Python programming paradigms including testing, documentation, packaging, and distribution Learn by following along with ten interesting projects, including a P2P file-sharing application, chat client, video game, remote text editor, and more Who This Book Is For Programmers, novice and otherwise, seeking a comprehensive introduction to the Python programming language.
Learn to speak fluent finance--and ace your exams! Warren Buffett said that "accounting is the language of business.'' And for many accounting and business students, the obscure terminology of accounting makes fluency hard to achieve. Financial Accounting For Dummies can help to demystify abstract concepts in a straightforward, friendly way. With step-by-step examples and real-world scenarios practice, it helps you grasp the fundamentals of accounting until you're ready to interpret, analyze, and evaluate corporate financial statements like you've been doing it all your life. Packed with easy-to-understand examples, this book takes you from the big three financial statements all the way through to income taxes. Or join the anti-fraud squad by discovering how to spot the ten most common accounting shenanigans. Grasp introductory financial accounting course material Explore common concepts financial professionals use to compile reports Understand leases, free cash flow, and statement analysis Learn accounting for small businesses Whether you're studying for your bachelor's, MBA, or MAcc, you'll find everything you need to speak the language of finance like a native--and use it to get to wherever you want to go!
This book provides an overview of emerging topics in the field of hardware security, such as artificial intelligence and quantum computing, and highlights how these technologies can be leveraged to secure hardware and assure electronics supply chains. The authors are experts in emerging technologies, traditional hardware design, and hardware security and trust. Readers will gain a comprehensive understanding of hardware security problems and how to overcome them through an efficient combination of conventional approaches and emerging technologies, enabling them to design secure, reliable, and trustworthy hardware.
Encyclopedia Of Major Marketing Strategies (formerly Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns) explores 100 major marketing strategies for some of the top global and emerging brands and social movements from 2015-2018. Entries profile major product/service, mobile app, social media, brand development, packaging, and other media strategies. Each essay provides a situation analysis, information on the target market, marketing strategy & tactics, and the outcome. Essays are aligned to the strategic marketing framework ensuring that the marketing strategies can easily be utilized in an academic environment as case studies, or illustrative examples often times described as "war stories" by professors.'
Ideas about resilience and identity continue to be promoted, discussed and debated in nursing. This book uses narratives to explore these complex and important concepts, unsettling our certainties and opening up new perspectives on what they might mean and involve. This engaging book recounts direct and vivid stories told by or about nurses. These vignettes discuss nursing's ideals without idealising them and show nursing work and the lives of nurses in all their complexity. They include contributions from mental health nurses, a former nurse, student nurses, a migrant nurse and a whistle-blowing nurse, among others. The book ends with chapter-by-chapter contextual material to promote reflection, discussion and further reading. Written with nursing students preparing to transition to the workplace and professional status in mind, this thought-provoking book is also suitable for nurses and nurse academics interested in resilience and issues around professional identity.
Become a more effective tech professional by learning how to provide the most useful IT support for your users. You'll learn how to efficiently and effectively deal with any type of problem, including operating systems, software, and hardware. IT support is often complex, time-consuming, and expensive, but it doesn't have to be with the right processes in place. Whether you're an individual, part of an IT support team, or managing staff supporting PC users in their homes, The IT Support Handbook will help you understand the right way to approach, troubleshoot, and isolate problems so they can be handled efficiently, with least disruption and cost to your business. You'll make yourself popular with your colleagues, and keep your customers and users happy and productive. What You'll Learn Manage reporting, and keep a record of issues that occur Provide effective remote support for users away from home or working in another office Use error and system reporting in Windows to obtain high-quality, relevant information Spot patterns in user behavior that may be causing difficult-to-diagnose problems Be familiar with best practices to make you a better support professional Who This Book Is For IT professionals, IT support (on-site and remote), and system administrators who manage support teams. No prior knowledge is required.
Understand malware analysis and its practical implementation Key Features Explore the key concepts of malware analysis and memory forensics using real-world examples Learn the art of detecting, analyzing, and investigating malware threats Understand adversary tactics and techniques Book Description Malware analysis and memory forensics are powerful analysis and investigation techniques used in reverse engineering, digital forensics, and incident response. With adversaries becoming sophisticated and carrying out advanced malware attacks on critical infrastructures, data centers, and private and public organizations, detecting, responding to, and investigating such intrusions is critical to information security professionals. Malware analysis and memory forensics have become must-have skills to fight advanced malware, targeted attacks, and security breaches. This book teaches you the concepts, techniques, and tools to understand the behavior and characteristics of malware through malware analysis. It also teaches you techniques to investigate and hunt malware using memory forensics. This book introduces you to the basics of malware analysis, and then gradually progresses into the more advanced concepts of code analysis and memory forensics. It uses real-world malware samples, infected memory images, and visual diagrams to help you gain a better understanding of the subject and to equip you with the skills required to analyze, investigate, and respond to malware-related incidents. What you will learn Create a safe and isolated lab environment for malware analysis Extract the metadata associated with malware Determine malware's interaction with the system Perform code analysis using IDA Pro and x64dbg Reverse-engineer various malware functionalities Reverse engineer and decode common encoding/encryption algorithms Reverse-engineer malware code injection and hooking techniques Investigate and hunt malware using memory forensics Who this book is for This book is for incident responders, cyber-security investigators, system administrators, malware analyst, forensic practitioners, student, or curious security professionals interested in learning malware analysis and memory forensics. Knowledge of programming languages such as C and Python is helpful but is not mandatory. If you have written few lines of code and have a basic understanding of programming concepts, you'll be able to get most out of this book.
This important reference work is an extensive, up-to-date resource for students who want to investigate the world of cybercrime or for those seeking further knowledge of specific attacks both domestically and internationally. Cybercrime is characterized by criminal acts that take place in the borderless digital realm. It takes on many forms, and its perpetrators and victims are varied. From financial theft, destruction of systems, fraud, corporate espionage, and ransoming of information to the more personal, such as stalking and web-cam spying as well as cyberterrorism, this work covers the full spectrum of crimes committed via cyberspace. This comprehensive encyclopedia covers the most noteworthy attacks while also focusing on the myriad issues that surround cybercrime. It includes entries on such topics as the different types of cyberattacks, cybercrime techniques, specific cybercriminals and cybercrime groups, and cybercrime investigations. While objective in its approach, this book does not shy away from covering such relevant, controversial topics as Julian Assange and Russian interference in the 2016 U.S. presidential election. It also provides detailed information on all of the latest developments in this constantly evolving field. Includes an introductory overview essay that discusses all aspects of cybercrime--how it's defined, how it developed, and its massive expansion in recent years Offers a wide array of entries regarding cybercrime and the many ways it can be committed Explores the largest, most costly cyber attacks on a variety of victims, including corporations, governments, consumers, and individuals Provides up-to-date information on the ever-evolving field of cybercrime
Provides key updates to a must-have text on hydraulic control systems This fully updated, second edition offers students and professionals a reliable and comprehensive guide to the hows and whys of today's hydraulic control system fundamentals. Complete with insightful industry examples, it features the latest coverage of modeling and control systems with a widely accepted approach to systems design. The book also offers all new information on: advanced control topics; auxiliary components (reservoirs, accumulators, coolers, filters); hybrid transmissions; multi-circuit systems; and digital hydraulics. Chapters in Hydraulic Control Systems, 2nd Edition cover; fluid properties; fluid mechanics; dynamic systems and control; hydraulic valves, pumps, and actuators; auxiliary components; and both valve and pump controlled hydraulic systems. The book presents illustrative case studies throughout that highlight important topics and demonstrate how equations can be implemented and used in the real world. It also features end-of-chapter exercises to help facilitate learning. It is a powerful tool for developing a solid understanding of hydraulic control systems that will serve all practicing engineers in the field. Provides a useful review of fluid mechanics and system dynamics Offers thorough analysis of transient fluid flow forces within valves Adds all new information on: advanced control topics; auxiliary components; hybrid transmissions; multi-circuit systems; and digital hydraulics Discusses flow ripple for both gear pumps and axial piston pumps Presents updated analysis of the pump control problems associated with swash plate type machines Showcases a successful methodology for hydraulic system design Features reduced-order models and PID controllers showing control objectives of position, velocity, and effort Hydraulic Control Systems, 2nd Edition is an important book for undergraduate and first-year graduate students taking courses in fluid power. It is also an excellent resource for practicing engineers in the field of fluid power.
African-American Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations, 2nd Edition presents the history, customs, symbols, and lore of more than 100 diverse holidays and festivals celebrated by Americans of African descent in the United States.Events covered include historical and contemporary African-American holidays-ranging from slave observances to Kwanzaa. Also covered are holidays and festivals commemorating notable people, historical events, cultural heritage, and religious beliefs. Religious observances include those of various Christian denominations as well as those of Santería and other African-based faiths.Each entry covers the official name and date of the holiday or festival; its history and how it was created; when and where it was first celebrated; where and how it is observed today; places to visit and relevant organizations, with contact information; and sources for further reading. A few of the notable entries include:Battle of Olustee ReenactmentBlack Cowboy ParadeBlack Poetry DayBuffalo Soldiers CommemorationsCharlie Parker Jazz FestivalJuneteenthKwanzaaMalcolm X's BirthdayMartin Luther King Jr.'s BirthdayNative Islander Gullah CelebrationNicodemus Emancipation and Homecoming CelebrationOdunde FestivalRondo Days CelebrationRosa Parks DayUmoja KaramuWatch NightAccessibly written entries will be enjoyed by students doing research on African-American cultural studies, general readers with an interest in different traditions, and teachers preparing units on African-American history and contemporary life.
Get introduced to the fascinating world inhabited by the professional software developer. Aimed at a non-technical audience, this book aims to de-obfuscate the jargon, explain the various activities that coders undertake, and analyze the specific pressures, priorities, and preoccupations that developers are prone to. In each case it offers pragmatic advice on how to use this knowledge to make effective business decisions and work productively with software teams. Software projects are, all too often, utter nightmares for everyone involved. Depending on which study you read, between 60 and 90 percent of all software projects are completed late, run over budget, or deliver an inferior quality end product. This blight affects everyone from large organizations trying to roll out business change to tiny startups desperately trying to launch their MVP before the money runs out. While there has been much attention devoted to understanding these failings, leading to the development of entire management methodologies aimed at reducing the failure rate, such new processes have had, at best, limited success in delivering better results. Based on a decade spent exploring the world of software, Patrick Gleeson argues that the underlying reason for the high failure rate of software projects is that software development, being a deeply arcane and idiosyncratic process, tends to be thoroughly and disastrously misunderstood by managers and leaders. So long as the people tasked with making decisions about software projects are unaware of these idiosyncrasies and their ramifications, software projects will be delivered late, software products will be unfit for purpose, and relations between software developers and their non-technical colleagues will be strained. Even the most potent modern management tools are ineffective when wielded blindly. To anyone who employs, contracts, manages, or works with software developers, Working with Coders: A Guide to Software Development for the Perplexed Non-Techie delivers the understanding necessary to reduce friction and inefficiencies at the intersection between software development teams and their non-technical colleagues. What You'll Learn Discover why software projects are so commonly delivered late and with an abysmal end product Examine why the relationship between coders and their non-technical colleagues is often strained Understand how the software development process works and how to support it effectively Decipher and use the jargon of software development Keep a team of coders happy and improve the odds of successful software project delivery Who This Book Is For Anyone who employs, contracts, or manages software developers--such as tech startup CEOs, project managers, and clients of digital agencies--and wishes the relationship were easier and more productive. The secondary readership is software developers who want to find ways of working more effectively as part of a team.
This textbook surveys hydraulics and fluid power systems technology, with new chapters on system modeling and hydraulic systems controls now included.The text presents topics in a systematic way, following the course of energy transmission in hydraulic power generation, distribution, deployment, modeling, and control in fluid power systems.
Logistics Transportation Systems compiles multiple topics on transportation logistics systems from both qualitative and quantitative perspectives, providing detailed examples of real-world logistics workflows. It explores the key concepts and problem-solving techniques required by researchers and logistics professionals to effectively manage the continued expansion of logistics transportation systems, which is expected to reach an estimated 25 billion tons in the United States alone by 2045. This book provides an ample understanding of logistics transportation systems, including basic concepts, in-depth modeling analysis, and network analysis for researchers and practitioners. In addition, it covers policy issues related to transportation logistics, such as security, rules and regulations, and emerging issues including reshoring. This book is an ideal guide for academic researchers and both undergraduate and graduate students in transportation modeling, supply chains, planning, and systems. It is also useful to transportation practitioners involved in planning, feasibility studies, consultation and policy for transportation systems, logistics, and infrastructure.
This book covers the basic issues and principles of information and communication technologies. It explains the key theories, techniques and applications of this field for both academic and professional audiences. Beginning with an overview of information and communication networks and architecture, the text explores information theory, coding and modulation schemes, wave propagation, wireless and wireline communications, network security, network management, network planning and optimization methods for digital communication networks.
When students, job candidates, business executives, historians, and investors need accurate and detailed information on the development of any of the world's largest and most influential companies, direct them to International Directory of Company Histories. This multi-volume work is the first major reference to bring together histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location. Each three- to five-page entry is meticulously detailed with facts gathered from popular magazines, academic periodicals, books, annual reports, and the archives of the companies themselves. Entries provide information on founders, expansions and losses, labor/management actions, NAICS codes, key dates, ticker symbol, principal subsidiaries, principal divisions, principal operating units, principle competitors, and other significant milestones -- all peppered with statistics, dates and names of key players. Vols. 1-6 are organized alphabetically by major industries; Vol. 7 and subsequent volumes are arranged alphabetically by company name within each volume. The histories were compiled from publicly accessible sources, as well as from material supplied by the companies themselves. Entries on companies that have had major changes since they were last profiled may be selected for updating.
Industrial revolutions have impacted both, manufacturing and service. From the steam engine to digital automated production, the industrial revolutions have conduced significant changes in operations and supply chain management (SCM) processes. Swift changes in manufacturing and service systems have led to phenomenal improvements in productivity. The fast-paced environment brings new challenges and opportunities for the companies that are associated with the adaptation to the new concepts such as Internet of Things (IoT) and Cyber Physical Systems, artificial intelligence (AI), robotics, cyber security, data analytics, block chain and cloud technology. These emerging technologies facilitated and expedited the birth of Logistics 4.0. Industrial Revolution 4.0 initiatives in SCM has attracted stakeholders' attentions due to it is ability to empower using a set of technologies together that helps to execute more efficient production and distribution systems. This initiative has been called Logistics 4.0 of the fourth Industrial Revolution in SCM due to its high potential. Connecting entities, machines, physical items and enterprise resources to each other by using sensors, devices and the internet along the supply chains are the main attributes of Logistics 4.0. IoT enables customers to make more suitable and valuable decisions due to the data-driven structure of the Industry 4.0 paradigm. Besides that, the system's ability of gathering and analyzing information about the environment at any given time and adapting itself to the rapid changes add significant value to the SCM processes. In this peer-reviewed book, experts from all over the world, in the field present a conceptual framework for Logistics 4.0 and provide examples for usage of Industry 4.0 tools in SCM. This book is a work that will be beneficial for both practitioners and students and academicians, as it covers the theoretical framework, on the one hand, and includes examples of practice and real world.
This workbook addresses the vital questions helpers, responders, and organizations have about self-care and its relationship to resilience and sustained effectiveness in the midst of daily exposure to trauma victims and or situations. Packed with activities, worksheets, and interactive learning tools, the text provides neuro-based and trauma-sensitive recommendations for improving the ways clinicians care for themselves. Each 'session' helps clinicians identify their personal self-care needs and arrive at an effective self-care plan that promotes resilience in the face of daily exposure to trauma-inducing situations and reduces the effects of compassion fatigue and burnout. Reducing Compassion Fatigue, Secondary Traumatic Stress, and Burnout is an essential workbook for any helper or organization looking to enhance compassionate care.