Welcome to the Research Portal! This page provides one-stop shopping for all of your research needs.
Not sure how to start? Chat with someone in the library or meet with a librarian in person to get some help.
Students who are currently enrolled at Fletcher Technical Community College in an on campus, distance education, or online course are eligible for library services. To use the databases from a remote location, you must first be a registered student at Fletcher.
You will be prompted to supply a username (your Lola number) and password (your date of birth MMDDYY). Further help may be obtained by contacting the Library at 985-448-7910 during library hours of operation.
First published in 1971, the Collins Spanish Dictionary pioneered a new approach to bilingual dictionary publishing which continues to inspire millions of language users today. With wide-ranging coverage of contemporary Spanish and English, a wealth of examples and idioms, and a clear colour layout, this remains the ideal dictionary for advanced learners and professionals using Spanish.
Learn the Spanish you need. Gain the language skills you want. "Practice Makes Perfect: Basic Spanish" is a trusted companion to your Spanish-learning experience. In each bite-sized lesson, author Dorothy Richmond explains one--and only one--grammar concept and illustrates it with many clear examples. The accompanying fun and interesting exercises let you practice, practice, practice what you have learned. Although these lessons are purposely short so you can complete them in twenty minutes or less, you can go at a pace that works for you. This guide/workbook will help you master present tense verb conjugation the "ser" and "estar" verb forms adjectives possessive pronouns sentence structures the contractions "al" and "del" indefinite articles "tener" idioms and more Whether you are learning on your own or taking a beginning Spanish class, "Practice Makes Perfect: Basic Spanish" will help you build your confidence."
This newly revised Larousse Concise Dictionary is ideal for the more sophisticated traveler, business person, student, and anyone interested in achieveing greater fluency in contemporary French and English. The clear typographical layout and style, together with detailed treatment of vocabulary allows the user to quickly grasp the important nuances of language and translate and comprehend accurately. Containing 250,000 words, phrases, and translations, it is an ideal companion for both general and professional use.
Over 1,000 foreign language related academic-level educational videos.
Are you ready to start research on a topic for this course? Here are some tips from the library:
Search the right places. Where does the information you need live? Is it available through Google or do you need a specialized library database to freely access it? Make sure you pick the right resource when searching.
Search multiple places. Well-rounded research usually involves searching in multiple places. Don't limit yourself to just one place.
Use the subject headings. Databases usually tag things so that you can easily see everything on a specific topic. Find the subject headings that are related to your topic rather than relying just on a keyword search.
Use synonyms. Think carefully about your search terms (phrases, not sentences!) and try synonyms of your search terms.
Use Boolean Logic. This will help you get a smaller list of highly relevant results rather than a huge list of barely relevant results.
Don't wait until the last minute. Libraries usually can share resources with each other. If there is something you need that we don't have, we can possibly get it for you. This takes time though, so don't put off your research!
Does all of this information make your head spin? Meet with a librarian! Librarians are trained to help you find information, so ask for help.
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioural sciences. Consult frequently asked questions to sharpen your understanding of APA Style. It lets you familiarise yourself with submission standards for APA books and journals.